Explosion Protection

Explosive gas and dust atmospheres are a special challenge in fire protection.

Industrial Fire Detection
Logo ADICOS
EX-Logo_Adicos

Industrial Solution

Fire Detectors with Explosion Protection

Our ADICOS fire detectors are also available in variants for use in potentially explosive gas and dust atmospheres. They are type-tested or approved according to the ATEX Directives or IECEx Scheme. ADICOS fire detectors for potentially explosive atmospheres are technologically and structurally designed to ensure reliable fire detection despite high dust and gas concentrations. They are designed differently for ATEX zones 0 to 2 (gases) and 20 to 22 (dusts), i.e. depending on the probability and duration of the occurrence of an explosive atmosphere.

Fire gas detection in potentially explosive atmospheres

ADICOS fire gas detectors of the type GSME are integrated with their sensors in an aluminum die-cast housing. The gases pass through a sintered metal filter via diffusion to the sensor elements. A robust and dust-tight design is thus achieved. A type-tested housing variant is available for areas endangered by dust explosion.

Infrared detection in potentially explosive atmospheres

The infrared detectors of the HOTSPOT product line are each available in variants for use in gas or dust explosive atmospheres. They are either approved by manufacturer’s declaration or certified according to ATEX directive or IECEx Scheme. Due to their robust design and small size, the detectors are ideally suited for use even in difficult installation environments.

Application fields

Zones that are at risk of explosion exist in many areas of industry, trade and craft: for example in silos, bunkers and coal transport systems, in power plants and chemical parks, with wood pellets, plasterboard, grain or similar materials and systems. An explosive atmosphere can be present partly continuously or for a long time, for example due to high dust exposure. Sometimes even the smallest amounts of flammable substances, liquids, gases, vapors or dusts pose a risk.

ATEX directives and zones

ATEX stands for ATmosphères EXplosibles and includes two European Union directives for explosion protection: the ATEX Product Directive 2014/34/EU and the ATEX Operational Directive 1999/92/EC. They are mandatory for equipment and systems in potentially explosive atmospheres. In addition, the IECEx certification system applies. Furthermore, DIN EN 60079-0, -14, -31 or VDE 0165 and VDE 0170 apply.

The permissible application fields for ADICOS fire detectors

Areas in plants and structures in which an explosive atmosphere may develop are classified into different zones according to the ATEX directives, depending on how frequently and permanently this hazardous atmosphere occurs. ATEX zones 0, 1 and 2 apply to gases and are equivalent to zones 20, 21 and 22 for dusts. We offer our different ADICOS detectors for the different ATEX zones depending on the gas or dust hazard.

ADICOS fire detectors, table for the application fields depending on the explosion hazard according to ATEX zone

We will be pleased to assist you.

Are you interested in our ADICOS system or are you planning a specific project? We will be pleased to assist you. Please contact us by phone at +49 2162 3703-0 or by e-mail (adicos[at]gte.de) or send us a non-binding project inquiry via our inquiry form.

Industrial Fire Detection ADICOS

Explosionsschutz

Explosionsgefährdete Gas- und Staubatmosphären sind eine besondere Herausforderung im Brandschutz.

Brandmeldetechnik
Logo ADICOS
EX-Logo_Adicos

Branchenlösung

Brandmelder mit Explosionsschutz

Unsere ADICOS-Brandmelder sind in Varianten auch für den Einsatz in explosionsgefährdeten Gas- und Staubatmosphären erhältlich. Sie sind baumustergeprüft oder nach ATEX-Richtlinie oder IECEx zugelassen. Die ADICOS-Brandmelder für explosionsgefährdete Bereiche sind technologisch wie baulich so beschaffen, dass trotz hoher Staub- und Gaskonzentration eine zuverlässige Branddetektion möglich ist. Sie sind für die ATEX-Zonen 0 bis 2 (Gase) und 20 bis 22 (Stäube), d. h. je nach Wahrscheinlichkeit und Dauer des Auftretens einer explosionsfähigen Atmosphäre, unterschiedlich ausgelegt.

Brandgas-Detektion in explosionsgefährdeten Atmosphären

ADICOS-Brandgasmelder vom Typ GSME sind mit ihren Sensoren in Aluminium-Druckgussgehäuse integriert. Die Gase gelangen durch einen Sintermetall-Filter über Diffusion zu den Sensorelementen. Somit wird eine robuste und staubdichte Bauart erreicht. Für den durch Staubexplosion gefährdeten Bereich steht eine baumustergeprüfte Gehäusevariante zur Verfügung.

Infrarot-Detektion in explosionsgefährdeten Atmosphären

Die Infrarot-Melder der Produktlinie HOTSPOT sind jeweils in Varianten für den Einsatz in gas- oder staubexplosionsgefährdeten Atmosphären erhältlich. Sie sind entweder durch Herstellererklärung zugelassen oder gemäß ATEX-Richtlinie oder IECEx zertifiziert. Durch ihre robuste Ausführung und ihre geringe Größe sind die Melder bestens auch in schwierigen Montageumgebungen einsetzbar.

Einsatzgebiete

Zonen, die explosionsgefährdet sind, gibt es in vielen Bereichen aus Industrie, Gewerbe und Handwerk: zum Beispiel in Silos, Bunkern und Transportanlagen von Kohle, in Kraftwerken und Chemieparks, bei Holzpellets, Rigips, Getreide oder ähnlichen Stoffen und Anlagen. Eine explosive Atmosphäre kann beispielsweise durch hohe Staubbelastung teils ständig oder langzeitig vorhanden sein. Manchmal geht die Gefahr schon von kleinsten Mengen an brennbaren Stoffen, Flüssigkeiten, Gasen, Dämpfen oder Stäuben aus.

ATEX-Richtlinien und -Zonen

ATEX steht für ATmosphères EXplosibles und beinhaltet zwei Richtlinien der Europäischen Union für Explosionsschutz: die ATEX-Produktrichtlinie 2014/34/EU und die ATEX-Betriebsrichtlinie 1999/92/EG. Sie sind verpflichtend für Anlagen und Systeme in explosionsgefährdetem Umfeld. Außerdem findet das IECEx-Zertifizierungssystem Anwendung. Zudem gelten die DIN EN 60079-0, -14, -31 bzw. VDE 0165 und VDE 0170.

Die zulässigen Einsatzbereiche der ADICOS-Brandmelder

Bereiche in Anlagen und Bauwerken, in denen sich eine explosionsfähige Atmosphäre entwickeln kann, werden nach den sogenannten ATEX-Richtlinien in verschiedene Zonen klassifiziert, je nachdem, wie häufig und dauerhaft diese gefährliche Atmosphäre auftritt. ATEX-Zonen 0, 1 und 2 gelten für Gase und sind äquivalent zu Zone 20, 21 und 22 für Stäube. Wir bieten unsere unterschiedlichen ADICOS-Melder je nach Gas- oder Staubgefährdung für die verschiedenen ATEX-Zonen an.

ADICOS-Brandmelder, Tabelle für die Einsatzbereiche je nach Explosionsgefahr gemäß ATEX-Zone

Wir beraten Sie gern

Interessieren Sie sich für das ADICOS-System oder planen Sie ein konkretes Projekt? Wir beraten Sie gerne. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 2162 3703-0 oder per E-Mail (adicos@gte.de) oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Projektanfrage über unser Anfrageformular.