Storage Facilities

Storage facilities with highly combustible or flammable materials can be reliably protected by early fire detection.

Industrial Fire Detection
Logo ADICOS
Mitsubishi Papierfabrik Adicos Hotspot 1000

Industrial Solutions

Early Fire Detection in Paper Warehouses

Early fire detection saves valuable time, keeps fire damage low and extinguishing damage manageable. Especially in paper warehouses, it prevents major damage and is efficient and economical.

The paper manufacturing company Mitsubishi HiTec Paper Europe GmbH uses our HOTSPOT-1000 infrared fire detectors. The thermal imaging cameras detect smoldering fires and open fires extremely quickly. 42 of our HOTSPOT-1000s are installed in a paper warehouse at the Bielefeld production facility. In the building, which measures around 100 m x 20 m, paper rolls of 2 m diameter and approx. 6 to 8 t in weight can be stacked, in some cases three to four high. More than 200 paper towers are possible. They are the starting material for further processing into surface-finished paper – for example into high-quality thermal paper, as required for receipt printing or tickets.

Typical causes o fires

Fires in paper warehouses can never be completely ruled out. They can be caused, among other things, by hot-running drives, fires in electrical installations and equipment, and also, for example, by heated parts of an overhead crane.

Increased dangers

Paper burns quickly. However, when rolls of paper are stacked high and close together, the risk is exacerbated: the chimney effect creates vertically directed air currents in the event of a fire. Air is drawn in from below, further igniting the fire.

Preventable consequences

If an early fire detection system is missing, high damages can occur in paper warehouses. A burned-down production facility means “worst case”. But extinguishing water is also destructive. The hall has to be pumped out, remaining paper rolls suffer water damage, and production losses and interruptions to the supply chain are added to the damage. The economic consequences can then be high.

ADICOS HOTSPOT-1000 at Mitsubishi HiTec Paper Europe

Solution

Fast and sophisticated early fire detection

In the paper warehouse, 42 HOTSPOT-1000 infrared detectors were installed under the hall ceiling. In combination with smoke detectors, they form a reliable early detection system. The thermal imaging cameras with intelligent signal evaluation can be freely parameterized and optimally adapted to the respective application.

Targeted placement of fire alarms

The fire alarms are specifically distributed over several areas of the hall so that it is easy to locate where there is a risk of fire. Extinguishing measures can thus be taken at an early stage within a manageable area, so that the remaining part of the hall can be spared, whether from fire spreading or also from extinguishing agent damage.

Alarming according to the multi-criteria principle

The fire detection system responds to two criteria: excessive temperature and impermissible smoke. If both the HOTSPOT-1000 infrared detectors and the smoke detectors respond, the system triggers an alarm.  It is possible and currently in preparation that it automatically controls a deluge fire extinguishing system.

Efficient, economical protection

Even in a relatively low-staff production environment, high material assets can be protected. Production downtimes and supply chain interruptions are avoided. The economic consequences of a fire remain low.

ADICOS fire detection technology, recycling plant with two conveyor belts

We will be pleased to assist you.

Are you interested in our ADICOS system or are you planning a specific project? We will be pleased to assist you. Please contact us by phone at +49 2162 3703-0 or by e-mail (adicos@gte.de) or send us a non-binding project inquiry via our inquiry form.

Industrial Fire Detection ADICOS

Lagerhallen

Lagerhallen mit leicht brennbaren oder entzündlichen Materialien lassen sich zuverlässig durch Brandfrüherkennung schützen.

Brandmeldetechnik
Logo ADICOS
Mitsubishi Papierfabrik Adicos Hotspot 1000

Branchenlösung

Brandfrüherkennung in Papierlagern

Frühzeitige Branderkennung spart wertvolle Zeit, hält die Brandschäden niedrig und die Löschschäden überschaubar. Gerade auch in Papierlagern verhindert sie größere Schäden, ist effizient und wirtschaftlich.

Das Papier produzierende Unternehmen Mitsubishi HiTec Paper Europe GmbH setzt unseren Infrarot-Brandmelder vom Typ HOTSPOT-1000 ein. Die Wärmebildkameras detektieren Glimmbrände und offene Brände äußerst schnell. 42 unserer HOTSPOT-1000 sind in einer Papier-Lagerhalle der Bielefelder Produktionsstätte installiert. In dem etwa 100 m x 20 m großen Gebäude können Papierrollen von 2 m Durchmesser und ca. 6 bis 8 t Gewicht teils drei- bis vierfach gestapelt werden. Mehr als 200 Papiertürme sind möglich. Sie sind Vormaterial für die Weiterverarbeitung zu oberflächenveredeltem Papier – z. B. zu hochwertigem Thermopapier, wie es für den Quittungsdruck oder Fahrscheine benötigt wird.

Typische Brandursachen

Brände in der Papierlagern sind nie ganz auszuschließen. Sie können u. a. durch heiß laufende Antriebe, Brände von Elektroinstallationen und -anlagen entstehen, z. B. auch durch erhitzte Teile eines Hallenkrans.

Erhöhte Gefahren

Papier brennt schnell. Wenn jedoch Papierrollen hoch gestapelt eng beisammenstehen, verschärft sich sogar noch das Risiko: Durch den Kamineffekt entstehen im Brandfall vertikal gerichtete Luftströmungen. Luft wird von unten angesogen und das Feuer weiter entfacht.

Vermeidbare Folgen

Fehlt ein Brandfrüherkennungssystem, so können in Papierlagern hohe Schäden entstehen. Eine abgebrannte Produktionsstätte bedeutet „worst case“. Doch auch Löschwasser ist zerstörerisch. Die Halle muss ausgepumpt werden, verbleibende Papierrollen erleiden Wasserschäden, Produktionsausfälle und Unterbrechungen der Lieferketten kommen hinzu. Hoch können dann die wirtschaftlichen Folgen sein.

ADICOS-HOTSPOT-1000 bei Mitsubishi HiTec Paper Europe, Lagerhalle für Papier

Die Lösung

Schnelle und ausgeklügelte Brandfrüherkennung

In der Lagerhalle für Papier wurden 42 HOTSPOT-1000-Infrarot-Melder unter der Hallendecke installiert. Im Zusammenspiel mit Rauchmeldern bilden sie ein zuverlässiges Früherkennungssystem. Die Wärmebildkameras mit intelligenter Signalauswertung sind frei parametrierbar und lassen sich optimal an die jeweilige Anwendung anpassen.

Gezielte Platzierung der Brandmelder

Die Brandmelder sind gezielt über mehrere Bereiche der Halle verteilt, sodass sich leicht lokalisieren lässt, an welcher Stelle Brandgefahr herrscht. Löschmaßnahmen lassen sich dadurch innerhalb eines begrenzten Bereichs frühzeitig ergreifen, sodass der restliche Teil der Halle verschont bleiben kann, sei es von einem Übergreifen des Feuers oder auch von Löschmittelschäden.

Alarmierung nach dem Mehrkriterien-Prinzip

Das Brandmeldesystem reagiert auf zwei Kriterien: zu hohe Temperatur und unzulässigen Rauch. Wenn sowohl die Infrarot-Melder HOTSPOT-1000 als auch die Rauchmelder ansprechen, löst die Anlage Alarm aus.  Dass sie automatisch eine Sprühflut-Löschanlage ansteuert ist möglich und derzeit in Vorbereitung.

Effizienter, wirtschaftlicher Schutz

Auch in einer relativ personalarmen Produktion lassen sich dadurch hohe Sachwerte schützen. Produktionsausfälle und Unterbrechungen der Lieferketten werden vermieden. Die wirtschaftlichen Folgen eines Brandes bleiben gering.

Wir beraten Sie gern

Interessieren Sie sich für das ADICOS-System oder planen Sie ein konkretes Projekt? Wir beraten Sie gerne. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 2162 3703-0 oder per E-Mail (adicos@gte.de) oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Projektanfrage über unser Anfrageformular.