Application Examples

Logo ADICOS
überwachung icon

Industrial Fire Detection

Typical Application Scenarios

In power plants, ports, transshipment facilities or recycling facilities, there is always the risk of embers being carried over during transport of flammable goods on conveyor systems. If, for example, sparks are brought in from defective shredders or if already ignited material is delivered, reliable detection must take place before storage. The use of infrared detector arrays is a tried and tested method here. The short response speed in combination with the high sensitivity and spatial resolution enables the detection of glowing fires close to the surface.

Conveyor Belt Monitoring

If combustible material is transported on conveyor systems, the possible coverage of a smoldering fire by non-burning material can play a role. In such a case it can happen that the overlying material is heated to such an extent that detection on the visible surface is possible. However, in order to ensure reliable detection in the other cases as well, the arrangement of the detectors is chosen, for example, so that the discharge parabola of a conveyor belt can be monitored. An alternative that is less susceptible to contamination is to place two detectors just in front of and immediately behind the belt. This arrangement makes use of the fact that a possibly concealed glowing nest on the first band lies at least partially open on the surface after being poured over and is thus detectable.

Monitoring of Feed Hoppers and Shredders

Ignition can happen at feed hoppers of conveyor systems or shredders for combustible materials, when system defects or material jams occur. Here, the targeted placement of several infrared detectors is an option. This enables the fire hazard to be quickly localized in the event of an alarm. The system operator can react immediately and also move mobile system parts such as conveyor cranes away from the source of the fire.

Fire Detection in Case of Equipment or Plant Damage

Infrared detectors are used to detect system damage at an early stage, e.g. on conveyor systems in rooms with high ceilings, strong ventilation or outdoors. The focus lies on damage scenarios such as hot-running drives, motor overheating, dragging chains and belts.  Thanks to target-oriented parameterization and intelligent signal evaluation, the fire detector not only alarms at an early stage, but also provides information about the location or position of the possible source of the fire. Using infrared detectors, the detection distance or “line of sight” to the object to be monitored must be free. If it is interrupted or obscured by other objects or by smoke and fumes, several detectors with different fields of views may have to be placed.

Monitoring of Stored Goods

Gas detectors of type GSME detect open and concealed smoldering fires already in the incipient stage. They can be used, for example, inside storage bunkers or in the headspace of silos. The multi-criteria evaluation makes it possible to specifically distinguish and tolerate interference caused by natural outgassing of conveyed materials or exhaust gases from conveyor vehicles from gases of real fires. When the system is put into operation, a signal spectrum is first recorded that allows the gas loads that are common on site to be taken into account in the internal evaluation of the gas detector.

We will be pleased to assist you.

Are you interested in our ADICOS system or are you planning a specific project? We will be pleased to assist you. Please contact us by phone at +49 2162 3703-0 or by e-mail (adicos[at]gte.de) or send us a non-binding project inquiry via our inquiry form.

Industrial Fire Detection ADICOS

Applikationsbeispiele

Logo ADICOS
überwachung icon

Industrielle Branddetektion

Typische Einsatz-Szenarien

In Kraftwerken, Umschlaganlagen oder Recyclinganlagen besteht beim Transport brennbarer Güter auf Förderanlagen immer die Gefahr der Verschleppung von Glutnestern. Werden z.B. aus schadhaften Zerkleinerern Funken eingetragen oder wird bereits entzündetes Material angeliefert, muss vor der Einlagerung eine zuverlässige Detektion erfolgen. Der Einsatz von Infrarot‐Detektorarrays ist hier eine erprobte Methode. Die kurze Ansprechgeschwindigkeit in Kombination mit der hohen Empfindlichkeit und Ortsauflösung ermöglicht eine Erkennung von oberflächennahen Glimmbränden.

Überwachung von Transportbändern

Wird brennbares Material auf Förderanlagen transportiert, so kann die mögliche Bedeckung eines Glimmbrandes durch nicht brennendes Material eine Rolle spielen. In einem solchen Fall kann es zwar vorkommen, dass sich als Folge auch das darüber liegende Material so stark erhitzt, dass eine Detektion an der sichtbaren Oberfläche möglich wird. Um allerdings auch in den übrigen Fällen eine zuverlässige Erkennung sicher zu stellen, wird die Anordnung der Detektoren beispielsweise so gewählt, dass die Abwurfparabel eines Förderbands überwacht werden kann. Eine weniger verschmutzungsanfällige Alternative ist die Platzierung von zwei Meldern kurz vor und unmittelbar hinter dem Band. Bei dieser Anordnung nutzt man aus, dass ein auf dem ersten Band möglicherweise verdecktes Glutnest nach der Umschüttung zumindest teilweise offen an der Oberfläche liegt und somit detektierbar wird.

Überwachung von Fördertrichtern und Zerkleinerern

An Aufgabetrichtern von Förderanlagen oder Zerkleinerern für brennbare Materialien kann es bei Anlagendefekten oder bei Materialstau zu Entzündungen kommen. Hier bietet sich die gezielte Platzierung mehrerer Infrarot-Detektoren an. Dadurch lässt sich bei Alarm schnell der Ort der Brandgefahr lokalisieren. Der Anlagenbetreiber kann rasch reagieren und auch mobile Anlagenteile wie Förderkräne vom Brandherd wegbewegen.

Überwachung bei Anlagenschäden

Um Anlagenschäden z.B. bei Förderanlagen in Räumen mit großer Höhe, starker Belüftung oder im Freien frühzeitig zu erkennen, werden Infrarot‐Detektorarrays eingesetzt. Dabei stehen Schadensszenarien wie heißlaufende Antriebsrollen, Motorüberhitzung, schleifende Ketten und Bänder im Fokus. Dank gezielter Parametrierung und intelligenter Signalauswertung alarmiert der Brandmelder nicht nur frühzeitig, sondern liefert auch Informationen über Ort bzw. Lage des möglichen Brandherdes.

Bei Infrarot-Meldern muss die Detektionsstrecke bzw.  „Sichtstrecke“ zum Objekt, das überwacht werden soll, frei sein. Wird sie durch andere Objekte oder durch Rauch und Qualm unterbrochen bzw. verdeckt, so müssen ggf. mehrere Melder mit verschiedenen Erfassungswinkeln platziert werden.

Überwachung von Lagergut

Im Inneren von Lagerbunkern oder im Kopfraum von Silos können Gasmelder vom Typ GSME eingesetzt werden. Sie detektieren offene und verdeckte Schwelbrände bereits in der Entstehungsphase. Die Mehrkriterienauswertung ermöglicht es, Störeinflüsse durch natürliche Ausgasung von geförderten Materialien oder Abgasen von Förderfahrzeugen gezielt von Gasen echter Brände zu unterscheiden und zu tolerieren. Bei Inbetriebnahme wird zunächst ein Signalspektrum aufgezeichnet, das die vor Ort üblichen Gasbelastungen in die interne Auswertung des Gasmelders einfließen lässt.

Wir beraten Sie gern

Interessieren Sie sich für das ADICOS-System oder planen Sie ein konkretes Projekt? Wir beraten Sie gerne. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 2162 3703-0 oder per E-Mail (adicos@gte.de) oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Projektanfrage über unser Anfrageformular.