Precise and Customized Project Planning

Fire early warning systems in special buildings are individual solutions and require precise project planning in order to provide efficient and safe protection.

Industrial Fire Detection
Logo ADICOS

Intelligent Placement and Special Parameterization

ADICOS special detectors have different requirements on project planning than classic smoke detectors. Knowledge of the detector technology is just as necessary as a general understanding of the propagation behavior of fire and interference characteristics. This applies to both fire gas detection and infrared detection. The determination of monitoring areas and the definition of detection targets precede the specific design of a fire protection concept.

The special characteristics of the building (e.g. building geometry, air conditioning, ventilation and extraction systems, structural fire protection equipment, etc.) must be taken into account as well as the characteristics of the respective industrial process (process gases, exhaust gases, thermal influences, etc.) and their interaction with one another.

Varying from case to case, these are the issues most often addressed:

  • Where must a sensor be placed so that it actually records the measured variables correctly?
  • What is the local distribution and propagation direction of the parameters?
  • How can sensor readings be optimally collected and analyzed?
  • How can we classify the detected events?
  • Which concepts do we develop?
Placement

Fire detectors must be sensibly placed and arranged in order to reliably detect all types of hazards at all locations in a facility. If possible, a sensor should be located exactly in the place where it can actually detect the fire or the stream of the smoke or gas. In addition, there should be a high probability that the measured variable is high enough at the installation site to exceed the detector threshold.

Disturbance variables

Disturbance variables such as unfavorable incident sunlight or reflections, heated exhaust pipes, flames or hot work can adversely affect the measurement of an IR sensor and lead to false alarms. Rain or fog also worsens the detection sensitivity. In the case of fire gas detectors, for example, ventilation or flow and possibly interfering exhaust gases from vehicles must be taken into account.

Parametrization

The parameterization, for example the triggering threshold, of the sensors must be determined sensibly depending on the plant, environment and time of day. A test run of several weeks can be useful for the determination.

Fire Tests

On-site fire tests are a suitable means of providing support in the planning phase. The aim is to find the best installation locations for the fire gas detector. This involves igniting controlled test fires together with the installing company at characteristic points in the area of the building or plant to be monitored.

These not only provide information on how smoke or fire gases spread under the specific air flow and stratification conditions on site. By burning typical fire loads of the respective plant, an initial spectrum of the gases released during an expected smoldering fire can also be recorded. This enables optimal initial parameterization of the detectors.

We will be pleased to assist you.

Are you interested in our ADICOS system or are you planning a specific project? We will be pleased to assist you. Please contact us by phone at +49 2162 3703-0 or by e-mail (adicos[at]gte.de) or send us a non-binding project inquiry via our inquiry form.

ADICOS Industrial Fire Detection

Projektierung präzise und maßgeschneidert

Brandfrühwarnsysteme in Sonderbauten sind Individuallösungen und brauchen eine präzise Projektierung, um effizient und sicher zu schützen.

Brandmeldetechnik
Logo ADICOS

Intelligente Platzierung und besondere Parametrierung

ADICOS-Sondermelder stellen in Bezug auf die Projektierung andere Ansprüche als klassische Rauchmelder. Kenntnis über die Technologie der Melder ist dazu ebenso erforderlich wie ein allgemeines Verständnis für das Ausbreitungsverhalten von Brand- und Störkenngrößen. Das gilt sowohl für die Brandgas-Detektion als auch für die Infrarot-Detektion. Die Festlegung von Überwachungsbereichen und die Definition von Detektionszielen gehen dabei der konkreten Ausgestaltung eines Brandschutzkonzeptes voraus.

Die Besonderheiten des Gebäudes (z.B. Gebäudegeometrie, Klima-, Lüftungs- und Abzugsanlagen, bauliche Brandschutzeinrichtungen, etc.) müssen ebenso berücksichtigt werden wie die Eigenarten des jeweiligen industriellen Prozesses (Prozessgase, Abgase, thermische Einflüsse, etc.) und deren Wechselwirkung untereinander.

Von Fall zu Fall unterschiedlich, geht es meistens um diese Fragen:

  • An welcher Stelle muss ein Sensor platziert werden, damit er die Messgrößen tatsächlich korrekt erfasst?
  • Wie ist die örtliche Verteilung und Ausbreitungsrichtung der Kenngrößen?
  • Wie lassen sich Sensormesswerte optimal sammeln und analysieren?
  • Wie können wir die detektierten Ereignisse klassifizieren?
  • Welche Konzepte erarbeiten wir?
Platzierung

Damit Brandschutzmelder alle Gefahrenarten an allen Orten einer Anlage zuverlässig detektieren können, müssen sie sinnvoll platziert und angeordnet werden. Ein Sensor sollte sich möglichst an dem Ort befinden, an dem er den Brand oder die Rauch- bzw. Gassträhne tatsächlich auch erfassen kann. Außerdem sollte am Montageort die Wahrscheinlichkeit groß sein, dass dort die Messgröße hoch genug ist, um die Detektorschwelle zu überschreiten.

Störgrößen

Störgrößen wie ungünstig einfallendes Sonnenlicht oder Spiegelungen, erhitzte Auspuffrohre, Flammen oder Heißarbeiten können die Messung eines IR-Sensors ungünstig beeinflussen und zu Fehlalarmen führen. Regen oder Nebel verschlechtert ebenfalls die Detektionsempfindlichkeit. Bei Brandgasmeldern müssen beispielsweise die Lüftung bzw. Strömung und ggf. störende Abgase von Fahrzeugen berücksichtigt werden.

Parametrierung

Die Parametrierung, z.B. die Auslöseschwelle, der Sensoren muss anlagen-, umgebungs- und tageszeitbedingt sinnvoll festgelegt werden. Ein mehrwöchiger Testbetrieb zur Festlegung kann sinnvoll sein.

Brandversuche

Brandversuche vor Ort sind ein geeignetes Mittel, um in der Projektierungsphase zu unterstützen. Ziel ist es, optimale Montageorte für die Brandgasmelder zu ermitteln. Dabei werden gemeinsam mit dem errichtenden Unternehmen an charakteristischen Stellen im zu überwachenden Gebäude- bzw. Anlagenteil kontrolliert Testbrände entzündet.

Diese geben nicht nur Aufschluss darüber, wie sich Rauch bzw. Brandgase unter den konkreten Luftströmungs- und -schichtungsbedingungen vor Ort ausbreiten. Durch Verbrennung typischer Brandlasten der jeweiligen Anlage, lässt sich zusätzlich bereits ein erstes Spektrum der bei einem zu erwartenden Schwelbrand freigesetzten Gase aufzeichnen. Dadurch wird eine optimale Initialparametrierung der Melder möglich.

Wir beraten Sie gern

Interessieren Sie sich für das ADICOS-System oder planen Sie ein konkretes Projekt? Wir beraten Sie gerne. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 2162 3703-0 oder per E-Mail (adicos@gte.de) oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Projektanfrage über unser Anfrageformular.