Recycling Plants

Early fire detection in recycling plants is complex and demanding.

Industrial Fire Detection
Logo ADICOS
Recycling

Industry Solutions

Fire Detection in Recycling Plants

As versatile as recycling plants and the materials to be processed there are, as complex and wide-ranging are the hazards. Our extensive product range of ADICOS fire detectors covers a wide variety of challenges here: harsh ambient conditions and interference, bulk material or moving sources of danger – right up to the risk of explosion. We advise our customers from the recycling industry and develop detection concepts together with them.

Bulk material and moving hazards

Monitoring recycling facilities with their typical open-air warehouses, large halls, shredders and storage boxes is challenging. Harsh conditions caused by dust, exhaust fumes, dirt, humidity and fog make work difficult. Added to this are heat buildup, embers, heat and flying sparks. Fire gases and other gases also occur.

Despite clearly defined specifications for pre-sorted recycling material, dangers cannot be ruled out: The delivered material may already contain embers. Improperly disposed objects may also be present, which ignite when exposed to mechanical impact. Based on experience, we recommend monitoring at all stations – from delivery to removal.

Typical causes

The causes of unexpected overheating and fires are as complex and varied as the recycling plants and the materials processed: self-igniting parts, flammable liquids, hot-running, overheated drives and motors, friction or defects in plant components – up to the risk of explosion, often in contact with large quantities of flammable material.

Special feature: Batteries in the Shredder

Especially wrongly disposed accumulators and batteries are risky. They overheat due to a “thermal runaway” and represent a dangerous source of ignition. During further transport, they are often buried by other material. In this situation, an incipient fire is not detectable.

Increased Dangers

Delivery | Storage

Adicos Anlieferung, Lagerung überwachung

Handover Conveyor Belt

Adicos Förderbandüberwachung

Processing: Shredder

Adicos Förderbandüberwachung

During transport on conveyor belts, sources of danger move quickly from one position to the next. In the area of delivery and removal, false alarms can be caused by exhaust gases and exhaust pipes from vehicles. In storage, static sources of fire and bulk goods are particularly dangerous. In processing, danger is mainly due to mechanical action or movement, e.g. during unpacking, shredding, shaking, separating or pressing.

Customized solutions are required

Many causes are not immediately recognizable in recycling plants. Even small ignition sources can quickly have major effects. Numerous disturbance variables make detection difficult. The powerful and robust ADICOS fire detectors are particularly suitable for these applications. Thanks to their high response speed, infrared fire detectors from the HOTSPOT series are ideal for detecting moving parts, e.g. on the conveyor belt directly after shredding. Dangerous parts such as heated batteries are discovered quickly and can therefore be removed in good time. Fire gas sensors of the GSME series are also used. They notice open fires and smoldering fires and are able to differentiate between disturbing but harmless gases from dangerous, fire-characteristic gases.

ADICOS fire detection technology, recycling plant with two conveyor belts

We are pleased to assist you!

Are you interested in our ADICOS system or are you planning a specific project? We will be pleased to assist you. Please contact us by phone at +49 2162 3703-0 or by e-mail (adicos[at]gte.de) or send us a non-binding project inquiry via our inquiry form.

Industrial Fire Detection ADICOS

Recycling-Anlagen

Die Brand-Früherkennung in Recycling-Anlagen ist komplex und anspruchsvoll.

Brandmeldetechnik
Logo ADICOS
Recycling

Branchenlösung

Brandüberwachung in Recycling-Anlagen

So vielseitig Recyclinganlagen und die dort zu verarbeitenden Materialien sind, so komplex und breit gefächert sind die Gefahren. Unsere umfangreiche Produktpalette an ADICOS-Brandmeldern deckt hier die unterschiedlichsten Herausforderungen ab: raue Umgebungsbedingungen und Störeinflüsse, Schüttgut oder bewegte Gefahrenquellen – bis hin zur Explosionsgefahr. Wir beraten unsere Kunden aus der Recyclingbranche und erarbeiten mit ihnen gemeinsam Detektionskonzepte.

Schüttgut und bewegte Gefahrenquellen sofort erkennen

Die Überwachung von Recyclinganlagen mit ihren typischen Freilagern, großen Hallen, Schreddern und Lagerboxen ist herausfordernd. Raue Bedingungen durch Staub, Abgase, Dreck, Feuchtigkeit und Nebel erschweren die Arbeit. Hinzu kommen Wärmestaus, Glutnester, Hitze und Funkenflug. Auch Brandgase und weitere Gase treten auf.

Trotz klar definierter Vorgaben für vorsortiertes Recycling-Gut sind Gefahren nicht auszuschließen: Das angelieferte Material kann bereits Glutnester enthalten. Auch unzulässig entsorgte Gegenstände können vorhanden sein, die sich bei mechanischer Einwirkung entzünden. Aus Erfahrung empfehlen wir eine Überwachung an allen Stationen – von der Anlieferung bis zum Abtransport.

Typische Ursachen

Die Ursachen für unerwartete Erhitzung und Brände sind so komplex und vielseitig wie die Recycling-Anlagen und die verarbeiteten Materialien: selbst entzündende Teile, brennbare Flüssigkeiten, heiß laufende, überhitzte Antriebe und Motoren, Reibung oder Defekte von Anlagenteilen – bis hin zur Explosionsgefahr, oft im Kontakt mit großen Mengen an brennbarem Material.

Besonderheit: Akkus und Batterien im Schredder

Vor allem falsch entsorgte Akkus und Batterien sind riskant. Sie überhitzen sich durch ein „Thermal Runaway“ (Thermisches Durchgehen) und stellen eine gefährliche Zündquelle dar. Beim Weitertransport werden sie oft von anderem Material zugeschüttet und vergraben. In dieser Situation ist ein Entstehungsbrand nicht erkennbar.

Erhöhte Gefahren

Anlieferung | Lagerung

Adicos Anlieferung, Lagerung überwachung

Übergabe Transportband

Adicos Förderbandüberwachung

Verarbeitung: Schredder

Adicos Förderbandüberwachung

Beim Transport auf Förderbändern wandern Gefahrenherde schnell von einer Position zur nächsten. Im Bereich der Anlieferung und des Abtransports können Täuschungsalarme durch Abgase und Auspuffrohre von Fahrzeugen entstehen. Bei der Lagerung sind ruhende Brandherde und Schüttgut besonders gefährlich. In der Verarbeitung droht vor allem Gefahr durch die mechanische Einwirkung oder Bewegung, z. B. beim Auspacken, Schreddern, Rütteln, Separieren oder Pressen.

Angepasste Lösungen sind erforderlich

Viele Ursachen sind in Recycling-Anlagen nicht ohne Weiteres sofort erkennbar. Auch kleine Zündquellen können schnell große Auswirkungen haben. Zahlreiche Störgrößen erschweren die Detektion. Die leistungsfähigen und robusten ADICOS-Brandmelder eignen sich ganz besonders für diese Anwendungsfälle. Dank ihrer hohen Ansprechgeschwindigkeit sind Infrarot-Brandmelder der Serie HOTSPOT optimal in der Detektion beweglicher Teile, z.B. auf dem Förderband direkt nach der Zerkleinerung. Gefährliche Teile wie erhitzte Akkus werden schnell entdeckt und können dadurch rechtzeitig entfernt werden.

Auch Brand-Gassensoren der Serie GSME kommen zum Einsatz. Sie bemerken offene und schwelende Brände und sind in der Lage, störende, jedoch harmlose Gase von gefährlichen, brandcharakteristischen Gasen zu unterscheiden.

ADICOS-Brandmeldetechnik, Recycling-Anlage mit zwei Förderbändern

Wir beraten Sie gern

Interessieren Sie sich für das ADICOS-System oder planen Sie ein konkretes Projekt? Wir beraten Sie gerne. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 2162 3703-0 oder per E-Mail (adicos@gte.de) oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Projektanfrage über unser Anfrageformular.